Dr. Henry Friesen

Director Emeritus

Dr. Friesen was a member of our board of directors from June 2011 until his retirement in May 2018. Dr. Friesen was the President of the Canadian Government’s Medical Research Council, and the architect and lead champion for the creation the Canadian Institutes for Health Research, President of the National Cancer Institute of Canada and President of the Canadian Society for Clinical Investigation. He is the Past Founding Chair of Genome Canada. A Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, Dr. Friesen was named a Companion of the Order of Canada and was inducted into the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame and the Order of Manitoba. He was also awarded the Gairdner Foundation Wightman Award; the McLaughlin Medal of the Royal Society of Canada; and the Koch Medal: the highest award of the Endocrine Society. He was presented with the Frederic Newton Gisborne Starr Award by the Canadian Medical Association, the association’s highest award, in 2006. Dr. Friesen also holds eight Honorary Doctorates from Canadian universities.